Everybody Loves Jim

gaffiganwmysigThat’s the only explanation I can come up with after watching the very funny first episode of the new sitcom by one of my favorite comedians, Jim Gaffigan.  The cameos were amazing – people you’d never expect to share screen time, like Jon Stewart and Glenn Beck – and Keith Olbermann? and Nancy Grace? Plus comedians Michael Ian Black and Chris Rock, and quick takes from many comedy club denizens which I’m sure my son (the newly transplanted New Yorker) will be quick to point out to me.

How on earth did Gaffigan get these polar opposites to consent to appear within twenty-two minutes of each other?  Especially within a plot – close to my heart – about what could happen to a well-known comedian if he’s ‘outed as a Christian.’  Do all these disparate personalities just love Jim that much? Or perhaps do they all have more in common regarding freedom and religion than they are comfortable admitting?

As a Catholic myself I see a lot – a lot – of mischaracterizations of religious people by the media.  I’m really pleased Gaffigan can work this topic into his expansive humor, still make you laugh out loud, and still needle those most in need of needling. I can’t wait to see more episodes! The first one can be viewed on his site at http://www.jimgaffigan.com/ . I’d like to hear what you think.

(Quick sketch of Jim Gaffigan above by me, while watching Episode One.)

One thought on “Everybody Loves Jim

Leave a Reply

