Art Deco Wedding Invitation

My daughter was just married on New Year’s Eve (thank you, she married a wonderful guy who is also a very lucky man) and she admires the clean and classy look of Art Deco design, so this became the theme for her wedding invitation and much of her wedding decor.

My printer is Cortineo Creative of Doylestown, PA, and I met with Lori of their Wedding Studio early on to discuss the look we wanted for my daughter’s invitation. Of many beautiful designs Lori showed me, the most exquisite I saw were those with laser-cut paper overlays.

Cortineo has created many unique designs with pre-cut laser-cut designs – some are pictured below – but of the samples I saw, all were floral and lacy – very pretty, but none had the sleek Art Deco look that I knew my daughter Julie prized.

1artdecowedinv

We decided to create our own. I found PaperPresentation in NYC online, and submitting our own design to them for laser-cutting seemed fairly easy and affordable. I asked Cortineo if they were ok printing and assembling the invitations if we provided a 1artdecowedinv3custom-designed laser piece and they were completely amenable to it.

We wanted the laser-cut overlay to be metallic gold and the invitation base to be simple black and white.  I made a rough Art Deco frame design in black for the laser-cut paper so we could also design the type, and Julie tweaked it, adding an arch at the top which fit perfectly with the deco look. I initially used a default Art Deco font for the rough invitation text, knowing Cortineo had many more stylish fonts in their catalog that they would suggest.

Since Julie works in NYC it was easy for her to visit PaperPresentation’s showroom and choose the exact paper she wanted for her overlay – she tells me I must visit there sometime too, they have so many gorgeous papers and envelopes for designing printed pieces! She chose a lovely deep burnished gold paper.

1artdecoinvitation4The designer at Cortineo, Kelly, found two beautiful deco typefaces to use – a bold one for the couple’s names and a more refined one for the body copy. Julie and I also came up with a gold and black deco-style monogram with their initials to put at the top, and by experimenting we decided to put some black triangles in the corners, which would show up the gold overlay even more. Kelly also deftly matched the gold ink color of the couple’s names to the gold of the laser-cut paper.

When submitting a design to PP you must create an extremely fine-lined electronic file, because the laser will cut exactly on the center of the lines you provide. Julie traced her design into Adobe Illustrator, and to be sure it was correct I asked my friend, designer and illustrator Glenn Zimmer, to check it and clean it up. I submitted the file to PP and they accepted it.  Within a week their box was delivered to me with 100 perfectly cut overlays.

1ppboxphoto

We think that when the invitation was finally assembled, it achieved a rich and lustrous, yet clean art deco look.

1juliesweddinginvitation

1artdecoinv5In addition to the attractive front of this card, Cortineo coordinated and assembled the other components of the wedding invitation into a pocket on the reverse side.

It was a wonderful experience putting together a custom-made wedding invitation with my daughter, and she really enjoyed inserting her taste and details into it. I highly recommend Cortineo Creative for their incredibly courteous and professional service, and their excellent designer. They even stamped the return envelopes for the invitation responses, then hand-delivered all 85 invitations to our post office, to be sure the clerk hand-stamped the outer envelope to prevent any damage from putting them through a machine. And PaperPresentation also deserves high praise, for efficiency, professionalism and the wonderful range of papers and services they offer.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

