Posting a Painting a Day: Big Dog Little Boy.

Day 4 the Invitation to Post:oldfolksonporchdoglemonade My parents posed for this picture, a long time ago! I painted this illustration for a book that never got printed, at least I think it didn’t. I was on an interview at a NYC publisher, and the art director gave me a rough manuscript she was considering hiring me to illustrate. I went home and drew this scene based on the book, and if I recall correctly I think I did two others as well, and went back to show them to her. She liked them but said she had jumped the gun and could not promise me any work. Well, lesson learned: never do work on spec. By the way, you have to look closely at the big dog to see the little boy.

Leave a Reply

