Announcing ‘Fantasy Tales,’ a Bucks County Illustrators Society Showcase

bcisfantasytalespromophotoI’m thrilled to be part of a unique publication of The Bucks County Illustrators Society – a showcase of the talent of the Society’s members, a full color book with text and illustrations entitled Fantasy Tales.  As a co-founder of BCiS, I am especially pleased to see the work of so many of my friends in the arts highlighted together.

The book includes art by me as well as James Bennett, Deb Hoeffner, Gil Cohen, Dot Bunn, Joe DeVito, Ponder Goembel, Rich Harrington,Monika Hinterwaldner, Becca Klein, Glenn Zimmer, Marie Thresher,Joe Kulka,  Rebecca Rhodin, Pam HamiltonSandy Bender, Kim Kurki, Seth Robinson and Kathryn Maxwell. Each illustrator chose a story or excerpt from a story that has elements of fairy tale, supernatural or fantastical events, and created an illustration to accompany the story.

In conjunction with this publication, we are mounting a show of Fantasy Tales artwork by our members, with many of the pieces in the book displayed as original art in the exhibit. The exhibit will be at the Scatter Joy Center for the Arts gallery, running from June 24 to July 20, at 305 Horsham Road, Horsham, PA. The public is invited to the opening reception on June 24 from 5:00 pm to 7:30 pm, to meet the artists and enjoy light refreshments. Copies of the book Fantasy Tales: A Bucks County Illustrators Society Showcase will be available for purchase at the opening.

The artwork in Fantasy Tales encompasses a wide range of illustration styles among BCiS illustrators, and varies from traditional media to digital to combinations of both. The stories chosen span classic Fairy Tales like Little Red Riding Hood and Cinderella to a Native American Folk Tale to the epic King Kong saga. Each illustrator’s biography is also included in the book.

fantasytalescoverscreenshot

I invite all my friends, and any fans of illustration or fantasy art to come to our opening or visit the gallery during June and July. In Fantasy Tales the Bucks County Illustrators Society also thanks three institutions with whom we have special friendships: the Philadelphia Sketch Club, whose history of supporting artists and mounting exciting exhibits stretches back to 1860; Phoenix Art Supplies and Framing, a vital resource in Bucks County helping artists find the best supplies; and the Scatter Joy Center for the Arts, founded by artist Kathy Davis, which regularly hosts changing gallery shows and art, craft and music classes for adults and children.

Regarding parking for the opening reception, the Scatter Joy Center for the Arts, where our exhibit will be held, is in a beautifully renovated stone farmhouse on the northwest corner of Dresher and Horsham Roads, in a shopping plaza called ‘The Elements,’ which has ample parking.

3 thoughts on “Announcing ‘Fantasy Tales,’ a Bucks County Illustrators Society Showcase

  1. Congratulations Pat! Looks a wonderful book! You certainly are a talented and skilled group of artists. Thank you for all those links; enjoyed visiting the various websites. All the best, Janette. 🙂

    • Janette, congratulations on your exhibit too! I like reading about your methods of mounting & framing your work – it is so expensive going the standard framing route. I’m commenting here because I didn’t see how I could comment on your post – maybe because it was sent from FB? I don’t know. But, your work looks lovely all together like that!

      • Thank you Pat… was so nice of you to search me out and comment! Wrote a post a few months back, about why I don’t often have comments on …it’s in my tags, on the sidebar of my blog. Mostly the lack of time to respond to them all. Do have some pages open for comments on my blog, and also there is opportunity for that on my facebook artist page. Anyway, glad you enjoyed my post…given time, I’ll post a video of me drawing on my iPad…think I’ve said this to you before. Always, try to follow through on things. Though, I reckon you’d know how busy things can get; as I like to say usually a “good” busy. Well, I really do appreciate your kind words. Best be off to bed, now; it’s midnight over here in Australia. All the best, Janette. 🙂

Leave a Reply

