Fashion Illustration Wedding Portrait Finish

In yesterday’s post I showed a pencil sketch for this project, which will be a wedding gift for an engaged couple. My client liked the idea of developing this as sort of a fashion illustration, which emphasizes curves and long lines and leaves some aspects of the art less developed than a finished illustration.

justinewp2While most fashion illustration idealizes and generalizes the models wearing the clothes, I did want to make this couple very recognizable. I drew a detailed sketch of their faces based on photos the client gave me. I tightened up the figure drawings and cut & pasted the face sketches in place so I could retrace the entire grouping onto Bristol board, ink it and paint.  To get the detail in the faces, I needed to draw these figures larger than I wanted the final piece to be – I try to make my finishes a standard framable size, to make it easier for the client to get a mat and frame for the piece. But I knew I would be scanning the figures and justinewp3inserting them onto the background for the composite drawing finish, so I was a free to draw them a larger, more comfortable size.

I made a separate painting of the background including the Eiffel Tower.  I started with a quickly pencil colored sketch, based on photos the client had and also looking at photos online.

justinewp4

When I painted in the figures I emphasized some rosy shadows in the woman’s white jacket, and so I also adjusted the colors in the backdrop to include some of the same colors. When I had finished painting all the parts, I assembled the components by scanning them and positioning them.  I added a rose wash to the bottom of the image to bring in the rose from the jacket, knocked out the hand-lettered Je t’aime and removed the date, since the client decided to omit that. I painted the wet reflections below their shoes separately and added that on top of the wash, to complete the misty, romantic atmosphere that was apparent from the couple’s engagement photos.

justinewp5

 

 

Leave a Reply

