Brand Design for a Service Company

I was contacted by Jim Hardy, who owns James A. Hardy Professional Services, to help rebrand the promotional materials for his Advanced Carpet Cleaning service.  When I met with Jim I told him, as a consumer, I like it when companies include the owner’s name in the company title – it might be an old-fashioned thing, but to me it connotes pride in ownership and a value for reputation, because no one wants their name associated with a company that does less than its best. When Jim told me his story of building his company on word-of-mouth recommendations and jobs well done, I could tell that it’s his philosophy too.

taurinobcwpJim had seen a caricature I’d drawn years ago for a mutual friend, Dave Taurino, of Taurino’s Painting. Jim wanted a similar representation of himself in his new logo, using his commercial carpet cleaning equipment, because he wanted the image to be instantly recognizable as relating to carpet cleaning. He also wanted the image to be bright and colorful so it would look great on a new commercial truck he is planning to acquire.

I started by drawing a caricature of Jim (not a very exaggerated form of caricature, just a general likeness) and putting a colorful graphic shape behind him.  Jim sent me photos of the type of cleaning equipment to include, and he noted that he wanted to add “and the Carpet Guys” to the title of the company.

jameshardylinewp

After some tweaks and with Jim’s input, we developed his business card – below is the initial version on the left and the final version on the right. I’ll write more about Jim’s other branded promotional pieces soon.

jameshardybcwp

 

Leave a Reply

