Fiddle Mouse

I painted another little musician, this one for a fundraiser for the Scatter Joy Center for the Arts, a wonderful creative school and gallery founded by Kathy Davis of the Kathy Davis Studios greeting card company.

For this fundraising auction, titled “Joy Squared,” artists were asked to decorate a 6″x6″ canvas, provided by KDS, in any way they wished. All the squares will be auctioned at the event on September 25 from 5-8 pm, at  SCJA, which is located at 305 Horsham Road, Horsham, PA 19044.

I decided to paint a little mouse fiddler happily playing and dancing, and the format just put me in mind of children’s books art from the 50s and 60s.  I first sketched my mouse in pencil –

mouseviolin

I painted the white canvas with a mixture of yellow ochre, cadmium yellow and white to give it an old feel. I transferred the drawing to the canvas with graphite paper, and painted it in, adding a few details to the finish.

fiddlemousewp

The public is invited to the Joy Squared event, there will be music, refreshments and outdoor chalk drawing for the kids, as well as the silent auction where my mouse and hundreds of other small canvases will be sold.  For more info you may call KDS at (215) 444-9544.

All artwork on this blog is (c) Pat Achilles and may not be reproduced in print. For instructions on leasing and permissions please write me on my Contact page.

Leave a Reply

