French Horn Player

bearfrenchhornI’ve added a new orchestra member to my collection of musical-instrument-playing animals, a French horn playing bear.  The brass instruments are beautiful pieces of crafts-manship and I’ve always found the French horn particularly graceful – and it has about 12 feet of tubing altogether!

Hundreds of years ago, horns were used in hunting to sound signals. It’s coiled around so that it could fit over a horseman’s shoulder while he was riding.

I started with a rough pencil sketch of the bear just waist-up, but decided I should do the whole figure for the finish, so I can use it for a greeting card.  I’ll be adding it shortly to my Store page.

bearfrenchhornwp

Leave a Reply

