Church Illustration Finished Art

In my previous post I wrote about the sketch stage of this illustration of a lovely church in Doylestown, Bucks County. Once I transferred the pencil sketch to illustration board, I started painting with acrylic washes. I dampened the sky area and painted in a golden haze, since the service starts around sunset, and filled in the burnt orange roof.

stpaulsvigil1

Then I painted in the cool shadowed sides of the building and added more orange to the sky..

stpaulsvigil2

I painted the warmer sides of the building and the cool colors of the stained glass, bell and slates on the steeple roof.  I added some stone detail since the church has variation in the color of its stones.

stpaulsvigil3

Next I blocked in the foliage and archetypal red church door.

stpaulsvigil4

And then more detail.in the walkway, bushes and the church sign.

stpaulsvigil5

At last I painted the people in the procession, trying to keep it loose but accurate in the details of the vestments and religious objects.

vigilpeopledetail

And the final scene . . .

stpaulsvigil7

One thought on “Church Illustration Finished Art

Leave a Reply

