Book sketch finish, Part 1

I transferred the pencil sketch from a few days ago onto illustration board as the next step in finishing the illustration, and I’ve started painting in the figures with acrylic paints.  To keep the colors in harmony (and also to make it easier on myself!) I’m restricting my palette to cobalt blues and earth colors such as yellow ochre, burnt sienna and raw umber, mixed with white when needed.  I’ve always tended to use too many colors of the spectrum in one illustration, but I’m realizing now that using just a few colors unifies the image more, and you can always throw in a complementary spot of color somewhere to accent one detail if you need it. 

jmbookwp1

 

Leave a Reply

