Holiday table illustration for a corporate greeting card

Last week I posted an unpainted sketch of a table set for a holiday meal, commissioned for a law firm’s holiday card to their clients and colleagues. I want to mention that I’ve always found the tables scenes painted by early 20th century Swedish illustrator Carl Larsson to be especially charming and endearing, and so I kept two of his scenes in front of me as I worked on my piece.  Larsson’s paintings are below –  ‘Around the Lamp at Evening’ and ‘Christmas Eve.’

larssontables

I would like to think I kept some of the flavor of his work, though I couldn’t include the delightful cameos of children as Larsson did. The telescope in my piece, below, was requested by the law firm, it’s a symbol that figures into some of their other promotional materials.

cardwoodcockw2013artwp

 

Leave a Reply

